The great retail department stores of downtown Dallas had much more in common than their Jewish founders and luxurious merchandise. Some of the most iconic and innovative buildings in downtown Dallas were all designed by the same architect.
George Leighton Dahl is known as the brains behind the design of the Neiman-Marcus Building (1927, 1618 Main St.); the Titche-Goettinger Building (1929, 1900 Elm St.); the Volk Brothers Buildings (1930); the Mayfair Department Store (1947, 141 Elm St.); and Philipson’s Fashions (1949, Elm at St. Paul). He even designed 32 stores for Sears Roebuck.
Dahl was an adaptive architect. According to the Handbook of Texas Online, “In contrast to contemporaries O’Neil Ford and Howard R. Meyer, who developed their own unique styles, Dahl, as critic David Dillon noted, remained a stylistic chameleon who produced works to suit the needs and tastes of his clients.”